Statist Indoctrination of Children

Statist Indoctrination of ChildrenThis is from an American fifth grade worksheet. The title of the worksheet is “Hold The Flag High.” It has been a long time since I have been in school, but I do not remember the propaganda being quite so thick. It may have been. Who knows. But the message is clear here:

  • The commands of the government must be obeyed by all.
  • The wellbeing of the state is more important than the wellbeing of the individual.
  • The President of the US makes sure that the laws are fair.

I don’t remember ever having a bad experience in my educational life. Not as a child, nor as an adult in university. In some miraculous way, I managed to avoid the common horror stories surrounding biased professors, indoctrination and propaganda that I read about today. Then again, I don’t remember much at all from that long ago. I like to think that I would remember propaganda as blatant as “the commands must be obeyed by all,” but in reality I doubt it. While I have the ability to question this now, as an adult, when I was ten years old (the average age for fifth graders) I probably would not have noticed.

To someone who is ten years old the idea that government orders must be obeyed by all, particularly if asserted by an educational authority, would likely just be accepted with the naive trust of a child.

Leave a Reply

