Humboldt County Deputy Lee Dove’s Extortion Attempt

Sheriff’s Deputy With History Of Misconduct Attempts To Extort $50,000 From Pulled Over Motorist

Lee Dove

Sheriff Sgt. Lee Dov of the Humboldt County Sheriff’s Department

Transcript from TechDirt of the cruiser’s camera footage:

Deputy Dove: “Well, I’m gonna search that vehicle first, ok?”

Nguyen: “Hey, what’s the reason you’re searching my car?”

Deputy Dove: “Because I’m talking to you … well, no, I don’t have to explain that to you. I’m not going to explain that to you, but I am gonna put my drug dog on that (pointing to money). If my dog alerts, I’m seizing the money. You can try to get it back but you’re not.”

Nguyen: (inaudible) got it in Vegas.”

Deputy Dove: “Good luck proving it. Good luck proving it. You’ll burn it up in attorney fees before we give it back to you.”

This is the same Deputy Lee Dove of the Humboldt County Sheriff’s Department who has made the news for a violent detention of an individual who refused to produce identification. You can watch a video and transcript here.

Leave a Reply

