Police Caught on Camera: “The only thing I’m going to do is shoot it. I do not like dogs.”

Police officers David Jacquemain and Jeremy Moskwa of the St. Clair Shores Police Department, as well as Animal Control Officer Tom Massey, have been named in a lawsuit alleging that they shot a dog named Lexie fifteen times. Before even approaching the dog one of the police officers was caught on his own dash camera saying: “The only thing I’m going to do is shoot it. I do not like dogs. I don’t do snares. I don’t do dogs. I’ll shoot the <expletive> thing” and “I’m gonna shoot it anyway.”

Jacquemain and Moskwa also told a neighbor that they planned to shoot the dog: “Hey, here is what I’m gonna tell you, if this isn’t your dog, then you don’t care if I shoot it because I’m about to. I’m very close to killing this dog, do you understand what I’m telling you right now? I will kill this dog. So if this is your damn dog, bring it in the house.”

Below in the first video is the dash camera footage. At 2:45 you can hear the officer state, “I don’t do snares, I don’t do dogs. I’ll shoot the fucking thing.” At 5:50 the police contact a neighbor and threaten to shoot the dog.

In the second video, taken by a neighbor, the dog is dragged away by Animal Control after being shot.

You might think that this dog had some type of history, but that is not the case. The police were called because the dog was barking:

Preston’s attorney, Chris Olson, said, “Police responded to a barking dog complaint saying that they were just going to shoot it anyway. Minutes later, they did exactly what they said they would do – they repeatedly shot Lexie in front of my client’s grandfather. Police claim that Lexie charged them. My client’s grandfather immediately refuted the police’s claim. Police then continued their efforts to kill Lexie by shooting her again as she hid in the bushes posing no threat to them. Lexie was alive when she then walked to the animal control van. The necropsy shows that Lexie was shot several more times after she was put into the animal control van. It looks like someone used her for target practice while she was in animal control custody.

Yet another reason to never call the police.

Leave a Reply

